Nepean Electorate


Electorate Description

The Nepean Electorate is one of 88 electorates that make up the Legislative Assembly of the Victorian State Parliament, Australia. Nepean District includes the southern part of the Mornington Peninsula, urban development along Port Phillip Bay, and rural areas in the interior. Popular attractions include the Mornington Peninsula National Park, the Old Fort at Point Nepean, and a number of coastal resorts.

The Nepean Electorate is located at the bottom end of the Mornington Peninsula.

Towns include: Blairgowrie, Dromana, Flinders, Point Leo, Portsea, Red Hill, Rosebud, Rye, Safety Beach, Sorrento and Tootgarook. Parts of Balnarring and Mount Martha.

Size: 550 square kilometres

Industries: Tourism Retail, Agriculture (Wineries, market gardening, poultry etc) light industrial.

Geographical Features:
Bay and ocean beaches, Arthur’s Seat (300m), coastal cliffs, undulating farmland and natural bush.

Population: Approximately 45,500