Twelve new Academies to train Victoria’s student teachers

Victorian children will reap the rewards of a $1.6 million program which supports the next generation of school teachers through stronger partnerships between schools and universities.

Minister for Education Martin Dixon today unveiled the Napthine Government’s 12 Teaching Academies of Professional Practice, which consist of university and school partnerships that deliver hands-on pre-service teacher education in a real-world school environment.

“Following the successful pilot of seven Schools Centres for Teaching and Expressions of Interest process, I am pleased to announce 12 successful Academies will lead teacher training into the future,” Mr Dixon said.

“These academies will strengthen school-university partnerships, enabling metropolitan and regional student teachers to learn on-the-job skills from experienced teachers.”

Each Academy comprises a coordinating school within a group of schools and a partner university. All up, about 140 schools will help deliver training to more than 1,000 student teachers annually.

“Research shows that many new teachers feel they were not properly prepared for the day-to-day rigours of their profession. By immersing student teachers in school environments, the Academies will help close the gap between theory and practice,” Mr Dixon said.

“Feedback from student teachers involved in the pilot shows that they feel better equipped to manage students and deliver quality teaching.

“It’s not only the student teachers who benefit from the Academy model. Current teachers will improve their own skills when they mentor others, and universities gain insights which will lead to enhanced course delivery.”

The Teaching Academies are one of the key initiatives detailed in the Napthine Government’s From New Directions to Action: World class teaching and school leadership policy paper.

The Napthine Government is building a better education system, with a record $9.2 billion for school education in 2014-15, $1 billion more than Labor’s last budget in 2010.

The 12 Academies are: 

Bendigo, La Trobe University TAPP  Rural Victoria, Federation University TAPP  Geelong, Deakin University TAPP  Melbourne, Deakin University TAPP  Melbourne, University of Melbourne TAPP  North East, University of Melbourne TAPP  North Melbourne, RMIT University TAPP  North Melbourne, Victoria University TAPP  North West, Australian Catholic University TAPP  Point Cook, Victoria University TAPP  South East, Monash University TAPP  Warrnambool, Deakin University TAPP